free site statistics

Sri Lanka won the Cricket World Cup

Date : 1996-March-17

Country/Region : Sri Lanka

Description :

In 1832, cricket commenced in Sri Lanka (then Ceylon) with the establishment of the Colombo Cricket Club. In 1981, Sri Lanka was awarded Test Status and obtained its first Test win in 1985 against India. In 1996, Sri Lanka won the cricket world cup by acquiring a place in the cricket world cup winners list.

The 1996 Cricket World Cup tournament was the sixth Cricket World Cup organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). This Cricket World Cup was also called the Wills World Cup 1996 as per the Wills Navy Cut brand produced by tournament sponsor ITC. This tournament was the second World Cup to be hosted by Pakistan and India, but Sri Lanka hosted it for the first time. Before this, Pakistan and India hosted the Cricket World Cup in 1987.

In this tournament, Sri Lanka won the world cup by defeating the well-experienced and talented Australian team. Here, Sri Lanka won by seven wickets in the final on 17 March 1996 at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, Pakistan. Sanath Jayasuriya was awarded as the player of the series. The Sri Lankan team was coached by Dav Whatmore and captained by Arjuna Ranatunga. At that time, the Australian cricket team had won the cricket world cup the most number of times.

Category : Sports

Related Incidents